“Baum premiered new music replete with crisscrossing odd meters, unusual ensemble phrases, challenging structures…that produced wonderful solos…exhilarating…fresh music that opened new paths of improvisation and soloing possibilities for her tightly knit, extremely well-tuned Septet+…Baum writes for musicians and music lovers, compositions based in the past but not beholden to it, performed by musicians girded for exploration and challenge.”
– Ken Micallef, Downbeat, March 2022

“Jamie Baum… is really rather unique; she is a fine composer, a technically accomplished flautist and she has ideas and imagination in abundance. Many players have some of these qualities but few possess them all.”
– Derek Ansell, Jazz Journal International (U.K.)

“A gifted flutist in any context, Jamie has constantly shifted direction as a composer and bandleader, recruiting versatile instrumentalists to interpret her demanding music. A master at blending multiple influences into her works…”
– Ken Dryden, Hot House Jazz Magazine

“Offering touches of modernization while remaining steadfast in honoring core values, Baum creates a world where sonic and spiritual resonance rest on an even plane. Even in its most unsettled state, there’s a pronounced sense of purpose lighting the way. There’s clearly no chasm too wide for Baum to cross.”
– Dan Bilawsky, JazzTimes

Jazz Journalists Association

Readers Poll 2018
Bridges wins 4th place for “Best New Release”

John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation

2021 Nominee

John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation

2014 Fellow – Music Composition